PME Engines manufacturing center-

Pro Motor Engines is a professional race engine builder and parts manufacturer in Mooresville, NC. We focus on high performance engine building and testing, along with top of the line parts development and manufacturing in our CNC and machining departments. PME has provided the horsepower and drive for winning races and championships for our customers for over 40 years.

PME offers in-house engine development and design with a cutting-edge CNC machining department, dyno and Spintron testing. Under the operational supervision of Dennis Borem, who has worked closely with Mark Smith since 1985, our CNC machining, building and testing departments join together to allow PME the unique capability of designing, creating, and testing engines in-house. We’re proud to offer service to our customers with integrity and timeliness. We understand the high demands of a racing schedule and the time and effort it takes to win. We offer personal service to work with every customer and address their specific needs to meet their goals. This is the story of Pro Motor Engines. Now, let us help you tell yours!

Did You Know…?

Founder Mark Smith began his racing journey drag racing with his brother as a teenager in Medford, Oregon. There, he applied his knack of developing and implementing horsepower to win races. He was soon building Grand National, (now Cup), engines through the 70s and 80s for winning drivers such as Jimmy Insolo, Hershel McGriff, and Bill Schmitt.

Smith formed TriStar Motorsports in 1989 to compete in the Winston Cup Series. Early success came with multiple top 10 finishes for driver Bobby Hamilton, who was named Rookie of the Year in 1991 and Loy Allen Jr., who was the first rookie to ever win the coveted pole for the Daytona 500 in 1994. TriStar Motorsports shifted focus from running a fielded team to building and leasing engines for teams in the Winston Cup, Busch, and Craftsman Truck series with hallmarks of 3 successive Craftsman Truck Championships and a record-breaking 5 consecutive win streak with Ron Hornaday.